Add, modify, and delete user roles

Tekla EPM
2021
Tekla EPM Tekla EPM GO

Add, modify, and delete user roles

User roles allow the administrator to quickly assign the same permissions to multiple users. On the Roles tab of the Administration dialog box, you can add user roles, manage the permissions of the roles, and delete any unnecessary roles. After you have added the necessary user roles and modified the permissions according to your needs, you need to assign the roles to the desired users on the Tekla EPM Users tab.

To manage user roles, do the following:

  1. Click the File ribbon tab in the upper-left corner of the Tekla EPM window.
  2. On the File menu, select Administration.
  3. Open the Roles tab.

Add a user role

  1. On the Roles tab of the Administration dialog box, click New.
  2. In the Role field, type a name for the user role.

    For example, Project managers.

  3. Click Save to create the role.
  4. To manage the permissions of the new user role, click Edit Role Permissions.

    The User Permissions dialog box opens.

    The User Permissions dialog box has multiple tabs that represent the different modules and features of Tekla EPM. This way, the user permissions can be set separately for each module.

    The tabs are divided into sections that represent different parts of the module or feature. This allows you to give the user group permissions to only perform particular actions related to the module.

    All sections contain check boxes that determine what the user group can do in that part of the module. The available check boxes are:
    • Select: When selected, allows the user group to select and filter information, such as material items.

    • Insert: When selected, allows the user group to add new information.

    • Update: When selected, allows the user group to modify existing information.

    • Delete: When selected, allows the user group to delete information.

    For example, to allow the user group to select items and add items in a combining job, select the Select and Insert check boxes in the Combining Items section of the Combining tab. If only the Select and Insert check boxes were selected, the user group could not modify or delete combining items, so the Edit and Delete buttons would not be available.

  5. According to your needs, do any of the following:

    To

    Do this

    Select the permissions one by one

    1. Click a tab at the top of the User Permissions dialog box to open it.

    2. Select check boxes next to the permissions that you want to give to the user role.

      You can also click the A (all) and N (none) buttons to select or clear all check boxes in a section. This way, you can quickly give the user role all or no permissions to that part of the module or feature.

    3. Repeat steps a to b on all necessary tabs.

    Select multiple permissions at once

    • Do one of the following:

      • To allow the user role to perform an action anywhere in the selected module, click the desired button at the bottom of the current tab.

      • To allow the user role to perform an action anywhere in Tekla EPM, click the desired button at the bottom of the dialog box.

    For example, when the Update All check box is selected at the bottom of a tab, the user role can modify information in all parts of the module.

    However, if the Update All check box is selected at the bottom of the User Permissions dialog box, the user role can modify information in all modules of Tekla EPM.

    Copy the permissions of a Tekla EPM user

    1. In the lower-right corner of the dialog box, click the arrow on the right side of the Copy Permissions From list.

    2. Select the desired user in the list.

    3. Click OK.

    Give all possible permissions

    • In the lower-left corner of the dialog box, select the Administrator check box.

  6. Click Save to save the permissions.
  7. To close the User Permissions dialog box, click the Close button (X) in the upper-right corner.
  8. In the Administration dialog box, click Save to update the permissions.

Assign a user role to a user

  1. Open the Tekla EPM Users tab of the Administration dialog box.
  2. Select the user for whom you want to assign a user role.
  3. Click the arrow on the right side of the Role list and select the user role in the list.
  4. Click Save.

Modify a user role

  1. On the Roles tab of the Administration dialog box, select the role that you want to modify in the left-hand pane.
  2. In the Role field, modify the name of the user role.
  3. To manage the permissions of the user role, click Edit Role Permissions.

    The User Permissions dialog box opens.

    The User Permissions dialog box has multiple tabs that represent the different modules and features of Tekla EPM. This way, the user permissions can be set separately for each module.

    The tabs are divided into sections that represent different parts of the module or feature. This allows you to give the user group permissions to only perform particular actions related to the module.

    All sections contain check boxes that determine what the user group can do in that part of the module. The available check boxes are:
    • Select: When selected, allows the user group to select and filter information, such as material items.

    • Insert: When selected, allows the user group to add new information.

    • Update: When selected, allows the user group to modify existing information.

    • Delete: When selected, allows the user group to delete information.

    For example, to allow the user group to select items and add items in a combining job, select the Select and Insert check boxes in the Combining Items section of the Combining tab. If only the Select and Insert check boxes were selected, the user group could not modify or delete combining items, so the Edit and Delete buttons would not be available.

  4. In the User Permissions dialog box, do any of the following:

    To

    Do this

    Select the permissions one by one

    1. Click a tab at the top of the User Permissions dialog box to open it.

    2. Select check boxes next to the permissions that you want to give to the user role.

      You can also click the A (all) and N (none) buttons to select or clear all check boxes in a section. This way, you can quickly give the user role all or no permissions to that part of the module or feature.

    3. Repeat steps a to b on all necessary tabs.

    Select multiple permissions at once

    • Do one of the following:

      • To allow the user role to perform an action anywhere in the selected module, click the desired button at the bottom of the current tab.

      • To allow the user role to perform an action anywhere in Tekla EPM, click the desired button at the bottom of the dialog box.

    For example, when the Update All check box is selected at the bottom of a tab, the user role can modify information in all parts of the module.

    However, if the Update All check box is selected at the bottom of the User Permissions dialog box, the user role can modify information in all modules of Tekla EPM.

    Copy the permissions of a Tekla EPM user

    1. In the lower-right corner of the dialog box, click the arrow on the right side of the Copy Permissions From list.

    2. Select the desired user in the list.

    3. Click OK.

    Give all possible permissions

    • In the lower-left corner of the dialog box, select the Administrator check box.

  5. Click Save to save the permissions.

    The changed permissions are immediately applied to all users that have been assigned the role.

  6. To close the User Permissions dialog box, click the Close button (X) in the upper-right corner.
  7. In the Administration dialog box, click Save to update the permissions.

Delete a user role

Note that deleting a user role is permanent and cannot be undone.

  1. On the Roles tab of the Administration dialog box, select the role that you want to delete in the left-hand pane.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. To permanently delete the user role, click Yes in the confirmation dialog box.
Was this helpful?
Previous
Next