Tekla Model Sharing and multi-user for administrators

Tekla Structures
2021
Tekla Structures

Tekla Model Sharing and multi-user for administrators

You can find a table of the differences between Tekla Model Sharing and multi-user models here.

Tekla Model Sharing

Tekla Model Sharing enables efficient global collaborative modeling within a shared Tekla Structures model. Tekla Model Sharing gives users the freedom to work with the same model at the same time in different locations and time zones.

In Tekla Model Sharing each user has a local version of the model on their computer, or on a network drive, and the model data is shared and synchronized over the Internet using a Microsoft Azure cloud sharing service. When a model is shared, it is connected to the cloud-based sharing service. You can check the status of the service at any time.

Note:

The users of the same shared model need to have the same Tekla Structures version, and use the same latest service pack.

When a user starts to share a model, the organization the user belongs to gets the model ownership. In Tekla Model Sharing, an organization always owns all the models shared by the users in the organization. A shared model is always owned by only one organization. You can manage and view all the shared models owned by your organization with the web-based Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing. Logging in requires Trimble Identity administrator rights.

Tekla Model Sharing requires a valid Tekla Model Sharing license and a Trimble Identity which is part of a valid organization. Based on the Trimble Identity information, you can assign and manage Tekla Model Sharing licenses in the web-based Tekla Online Admin Tool. For more information, see Managing Trimble Identities and Tekla Model Sharing licenses.

Tekla Model Sharing cloud sharing service status is publicly available at Tekla Model Sharing Status. On this web-site, you can also find information about any service breaks.

For more information on how Tekla Model Sharing works, see

Note:

Tekla Model Sharing requires a single-user model. A model cannot be simultaneously shared and used in the multi-user mode. If you want to start using multi-user mode to share your model instead of Tekla Model Sharing, you first need to exclude your local version of the model from the sharing service and then convert it to a multi-user model.

The excluded model has no connection to the original shared model in the sharing service. This means that if you exclude your local version of the model from the sharing service and start to use the model in multi-user mode, you cannot later merge the original shared model and the multi-user model.

Multi-user models

You can work on Tekla Structures models in either single-user or multi-user mode. Multi-user mode allows several users to access the same model at the same time. Several users can work on the same project and be aware of the others' progress, so that copying and merging models is not needed.

The multi-user model consists of a single master model that can be located anywhere in the network. Each user can access this model, and open their own local view of the model on a client computer. This local view is called a working model. Any changes that a user makes to the working model are local, and not visible to other users, until the working model is saved to the master model.

The multi-user model is locked during opening, saving, and numbering. When one of the users performs any of these operations, other users cannot perform them during that time. For more information, see How multi-user works.

Note:

All users of the multi-user model should use the same settings and the same version and service pack of Tekla Structures.

Tekla Structures multi-user server runs as a service that is started automatically when you start the computer. You do not need to log in to the service. We recommend that you use the latest multi-user server version available regardless of the Tekla Structures version that you use. Note that using the multi-user server requires your company to have more than one Tekla Structures license.

Setting access rights to a multi-user model

You can protect user-defined attributes using privileges. You can also prevent your model and drawings from being accidentally modified by using the Locked user-defined attribute (UDA). You can use the UDA for parts (separately for beams, columns, and so on), bolts, welds, specific drawing types, project properties, and phase properties.

Using the Locked UDA and privileges together you can even restrict some users or organizations from modifying your model. For more information on access rights, see Access rights in multi-user mode.

The Locked UDA has three values: Yes, No, and Organization. When set to Yes, the object is locked and you cannot modify its properties. You can only change the object's user-defined attributes that do not affect numbering. If you try to modify a locked object, Tekla Structures displays the following warning message:

There are locked objects, see report. The operation could not be performed.

To add the lock attribute to the user interface, you need to add the following line in the object's section in the objects.inp file:

 attribute("OBJECT_LOCKED", attribute("OBJECT_LOCKED",
"Locked:", option,"%s", none, none, "0.0", "0.0")
{
value("No", 1)
value("Yes", 0) 
value("Organization", 0)
}  
			 
Was this helpful?
Föregående
Nästa