Multi-user mode

Tekla Structures
2024
Tekla Structures

Multi-user mode

Multi-user mode allows several users to access the same Tekla Structures model at the same time.

Several users can work on the same project and be aware of each others' progress. Using multi-user mode eliminates the need to copy and merge models.

Requirements for using multi-user mode

  • Multi-user models must be saved in a network directory.

  • All members of a shared model must use the same environment and role.

  • All members of a shared model must use the same version and service pack of Tekla Structures.

  • We recommend that all members of a shared model use the same configuration or license type.

    If the configuration is not the same, ensure that all licenses generate the same types of Components (conceptual or detailing components).

Advantages

  • No duplicate models to control, track or store

  • Using only one model reduces on site errors

  • Erection plans based on a single master model

  • Bolt and material lists generated from a single master model

  • Ability to share the workload of large projects among many users

  • Ability to collect model history (see XS_COLLECT_MODEL_HISTORY)

Other issues to consider

As with all projects, you must plan your multi-user project carefully. Some issues to consider are:

  • Only one user at a time can save to the master model.

  • Use a numbering plan. When working with multi-user models, always use the option Synchronize with master model (save-numbering-save) in the Numbering setup dialog box to prevent saving conflicts.

  • Schedule numbering sessions appropriately. It can take a long time to number larger models.

  • If possible, assign distinct areas of the model to each user to avoid conflicts that may happen when several users are working in the same area.

  • Do not use a mix of single-user and multi-user setups on one project. Saving a multi-user model in single-user mode deletes changes by other users working on the model, and can also corrupt the model. See Saving in multi-user mode to find out how saving works in multi-user mode.

Var det här användbart?
Föregående
Nästa