Work with autosave and backups

Tekla Structural Designer
2021
Tekla Structural Designer

Work with autosave and backups

Backups ensure that whatever happens there can be previous versions of the model that can be reverted to.

An added benefit of backups is that they provide a limited (per user setting) history of the model.

Following a program error, an autosave provides a single shot at reverting back to a working model.

The difference between autosave and backup

By having both features the user can be confident that they always has a file with the most recent changes and a backup if that fails.

Autosave Backup
The auto save file is a single temporary file constantly overwritten after a specified interval. Multiple backup files are created which are only overwritten when a specified maximum number is reached. Each backup is only created if, after the specified interval, there have been changes since the last backup.
Provides a single shot at reverting back to a working model following an error. Can be opened as and when required.
Once the model becomes corrupt the autosave file won’t help. Backups can be used to restore versions of the model prior to corruption.
The autosave file is a core save of the model. Similar to autosave, backups are also a core save of the model.
Typically saved at shorter intervals than backup. Typically saved at longer intervals than autosave.

Enable autosave

  1. On the Home tab, click Settings
  2. Under Autosave, click General > Autorecover
  3. Check the Enabled box and set the Interval as required.
  4. Click OK.

Enable backups

  1. On the Home tab, click Settings
  2. Click General > Autorecover
  3. Under Backups, check the Enabled box and set the Interval as required.
  4. Accept the default location, or browse to another location if required.

    Both local and network locations are allowed.

  5. Click OK.
    Note: Backup files are saved with read-only permission.
    Note: If required you can adjust the limit on the number of backups. Once the limit is reached the older backups start to be automatically deleted.

Automatically restore an autosave or backup following a Program error

To minimize the potential for lost work and possible model data corruption, a 'Program error' dialog can be displayed when an error is detected. As shown below, when an error is detected you are presented with a number of action options which cater for the potential situations of the model.

We strongly recommend that you do not click Cancel, as you would then be working with a potentially corrupted file. Instead we advise that you always choose one of the action options and then OK.

  • Where an autosave file exists, the top option will be available and is typically the recommended choice, (although depending on the intervals you have set, if both an autosave and a backup exist, it is possible the backup could be the most recent version of the model, in which case the second option should be used).
  • If a previously saved version of the file exists, the third option will be available (whether or not autosave or backup files exist) listing the last previous save of the model. This is the recommended choice if no autosave or backup file exists.
  • If there is a preferred previous file version the engineer wishes to revert to, this can be selected via the option “Open another model”.
  • If the model has only just been started, then none of the above scenarios apply and so the remaining option “Start model again” is the recommended choice.
  • There is a final option to save the possibly corrupted model for submission to your local Support Team for investigation. We would be most grateful if engineers could use this option to help us with continuing to improve the program. When submitting such a file, please try and include as much information as possible about the steps undertaken in the program just prior to the error.

Manually restore a backup

Provided you have the backup facility enabled you will have previous versions of the project available to revert to if required. Backups work by periodically saving the model after a specified interval. Each backup is saved to a new name up to the point when the user definable maximum number of backups is reached, after which the older backups are overwritten.
  1. On the File menu, click Model Backups
    The available backups for this Model ID are listed.
    Note: The list is for information only, backups cannot be restored directly by selecting them from the list.
  2. Click on the Backup path: to open the folder containing these backups.
  3. Double-click on the required backup file to open it in another session of Tekla Structural Designer (you may need to exit from the previous session at this point if you only have a single license.)
    The backup model opens, but note that this is read-only.
  4. Click Save As from the File menu to save the backup to a new name.
Was this helpful?
Vorige
Volgende