Understanding event sequence deflections

Tekla Structural Designer
Tekla Structural Designer

Understanding event sequence deflections

The model described in A typical model event sequence consists 3 identical levels and then a roof level with different loading applied. To cater for this a Custom Event Sequence has been applied to the roof submodel.

When you run Slab Deflection > Analyse All for this model, 4 sub-models are dealt with one after the other:

  • Each one considers 9 events
  • Each one does an iterative cracked section analysis at every one of these events
    • assume say, average of 20 iterations in each cracked section analysis
    • That's 180 analyses for each sub-model - over 700 analyses for the whole structure.
  • There is an additional instantaneous analysis for each event.

After analysis the deflections can be reviewed for individual events. The view below shows the deflections for Event 4 “Cast slab 2 above”.

Event 4 ends when the slab is 27 days old. The view above is the deflection estimate when each of the slabs are this age. These things don't happen at the same time but it's a very convenient way to display things.

Initially, this has the potential to be confusing, however it should be easy to understand provided you remember that:
  • Event Sequences are “Slab Event Sequences”. They describe the events a slab goes through where Day 0 = the day the slab is cast.
  • Event Sequences are NOT structure event sequences. They do not describe the all the events starting on day 1 of the overall construction.
Was this helpful?