Create, modify, and delete stations

Tekla EPM
2021
Tekla EPM Tekla EPM GO

Create, modify, and delete stations

Production stations and routes define the steps that an item in production goes through in the fabrication process. Stations and routes are also used for tracking labor time, the date a station is completed, and the batch ID for parts to be fabricated in the job. In the Stations dialog box, you can create new stations, or modify or delete the existing ones. You can also change how the stations are displayed when creating routes.

To access the Stations dialog box, do the following:

  1. Click the Maintenance ribbon tab.

  2. On the menu, select Production Control > Station and Route Setup.

The Stations dialog box opens.

On the left-hand pane, you can view the existing stations.

On the right side of the dialog box, you can drag and drop the stations to change the layout that is used in the Routes dialog box.

Create a station

  1. Click New.
  2. In the Station Details dialog box, modify the automatically generated station number according to your needs.
  3. Type a description for the new station.

    For example, Iron worker.

  4. In the Type list, select if the station is a production station or a field station.

    Production stations are steps the production that happen within the shop, such as cutting. Field stations are steps that happen outside the shop, such as erecting.

  5. To assign labor groups to the new station, do the following:
    1. Click the Labor Group tab to open it.
    2. Click the Select Labor Groups button.
    3. In the Select labor groups to associate with this station dialog box, click the arrow buttons to move the desired labor groups to the Included list.
    4. Click OK.

    Assigning labor groups to a station can help you apply your own specific determinations for labor applications. When you assign labor groups to a station, Tekla EPM assigns all labor time from the assigned labor groups in the linked estimating job to the station.

    For example, if the labor time for cutting includes bringing the material into the shop, labor groups GetPc (get piece) and Move can be assigned to the Cut/Saw station. In this case, Tekla EPM would gather the labor time for all these labor groups from the linked estimating job and use the labor time in the project schedule.

  6. Click Save.

The Station Details dialog box closes. The new station is added to the list on the left-hand pane.

Note that the station has not yet been added to any routes. To do so, see Create, modify, and delete routes.

Modify the size and position of stations

  1. On the right side of the dialog box, do any of the following:
    Table 1.

    To

    Do this

    Move a station to a new location

    1. Click the station and hold down the left mouse button.

    2. Drag the mouse pointer to the location where you want to move the station.

    3. Release the left mouse button.

    Resize a station

    1. Hover the edge of a station.

    2. When a double-header arrow appears, hold down the left mouse button.

    3. Drag the mouse pointer to expand or reduce the station according to your needs.

    4. Release the left mouse button.

    Repeat until the layout meets your needs.

  2. Click Save Layout.

Modify a station

  1. In the left-hand pane, click the station that you want to modify.
  2. Click Properties.
  3. Modify the station number and description according to your needs.
  4. On the Routes tab, view the routes that contain the selected station.

    To modify the routes, double-click the desired route. For detailed instructions on modifying routes, see Create, modify, and delete routes.

  5. To modify the labor groups assigned to the station, do the following:
    1. Click the Labor Group tab to open it.
    2. Click the Select Labor Groups button.
    3. In the Select labor groups to associate with this station dialog box, click the arrow buttons to move the desired labor groups to the Included list.
    4. Click OK.
  6. Click Save to update the station properties.

Delete a station

Note that deleting a station is permanent and cannot be undone. If a station is used in a production control job or a route, it cannot be deleted.

  1. In the left-hand pane, click the station that you want to delete.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes to permanently delete the station.
Was this helpful?
Previous
Next