Create, modify, and delete routes

Tekla EPM
2021
Tekla EPM Tekla EPM GO

Create, modify, and delete routes

Production stations and routes define the steps that an item goes through in the fabrication process. Often, items with different finishes have different routes. In the Routes dialog box, you can create new routes, and modify or delete existing ones according to your needs.

Note that you need to create all necessary stations before you can add them to routes.

To access the Routes dialog box, do the following:
  1. Click the Maintenance ribbon tab.

  2. On the menu, select Production Control > Station and Route Setup.

  3. In the Stations dialog box, click Route Maintenance.

You can see the existing routes on the left-hand pane of the Routes dialog box.

On the right side of the dialog box, you can see all available stations. Yellow arrows show the order of the stations on the route.

Create a new route

  1. Click New.
  2. In the Route field, type an abbreviation for the route.

    For example, you can abbreviate the route for painted parts as P.

  3. Type a description for the route.
  4. Click the arrow on the right side of TFS Station list, and select the station that is used for cutting and charging materials to the production control job.

    In reports, this station is where the material cutting is completed and the drops are sent to their assigned location. This station will be marked as completed when you take the item from stock.

  5. If you track production with the Tekla EPM Go dashboard, expand the Dashboard Productivity Station section, and select the stations after which the item is considered complete.

    If you have both production and field stations on the selected route, there are two lists: Production list for the station where the production is considered complete, and Field list for the station where the field work is considered complete.

  6. In the Route Type list, select which items can be assigned to the route:
    • Assembly: only main marks, or assemblies, can be assigned to the route

    • Part: only part marks, or accessory parts, can be assigned to the route

    • Assembly & Part: both assemblies and accessories can be assigned to the route.

  7. If you selected Part or Assembly & Part as the route type, in the Join With Assembly Option list, select when accessory parts should join the assembly to which they belong:
    • Join with assembly for first station: The accessory part follows the assembly route starting from the first station.

      Note that if the part route and the assembly route have the same first station, selecting Join with assembly for first station will mean that the accessory part goes through the same station twice.

    • Join with assembly for...: The accessory part joins the assembly route before this station. Select the station in the list below.

    • Join with assembly after...: The accessory part joins the assembly route after this station. Select the station in the list below.

    • Join with assembly after TFS station: The accessory part joins the assembly route after the station that you selected in the TFS Station list.

  8. Select the included stations and adjust their order:
    • Click the Not in Route tab to see the stations that are not included in the route, and double-click all stations that you want to include in the order that they should appear in the route.

    • Open the In Route tab to see the stations that are included in the route.

      To move a station earlier or later in the route, select the station and click the Move Up and Move Down buttons.

  9. Click Add.

The new route is now available for all production control jobs.

Modify a route

  1. In the list on the left side of the Routes dialog box, select the route that you want to modify.
  2. Modify the route abbreviation, description, TFS station, route type, or join with an assembly option.
  3. To modify the included stations and their order, do the following:
    • Click the Not in Route tab to see the stations that are not included in the route, and double-click all stations that you want to include in the order that they should appear in the route.

    • Open the In Route tab to see the stations that are included in the route.

      To move a station earlier or later in the route, select the station and click the Move Up and Move Down buttons.

  4. If you track production with the Tekla EPM Go dashboard, expand the Dashboard Productivity Station section, and select the stations after which the item is considered complete.

    If you have both production and field stations on the selected route, there are two lists: Production list for the station where the production is considered complete, and Field list for the station where the field work is considered complete.

  5. Click Save to update the route.

Delete a route

Note that deleting a route is permanent and cannot be undone.

  1. In the left-hand pane, select the route that you want to delete.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes to permanently delete the selected route.
Was this helpful?
Previous
Next