Recover deleted files

Tekla EPM
2021
Tekla EPM Tekla EPM GO

Recover deleted files

When a user deletes a combining job, estimating job, or a production control job, Tekla EPM saves the jobs in the Tekla EPM database as KISS files. Administrators can recover the deleted combining jobs, estimating jobs, and production control jobs within 30 days of deleting the job.

To access the recovering options, do the following:

  1. Click the File ribbon tab in the upper-left corner of the Tekla EPM window.
  2. On the File menu, select Administration.
  3. Click the Administration ribbon tab.

Recover jobs

  1. On the menu, select any of the following depending on the job type:
    • Recover Deleted Combining Jobs
    • Recover Deleted Estimating Jobs
    • Recover Deleted Production Control Jobs

  2. In the recovering dialog box that opens, select the jobs that you want to recover.

    To select multiple items, hold down Ctrl.

    To select a range of subsequent items, hold down Shift.

  3. Click Recover.

    A message opens, informing you that Tekla EPM will create KISS files for the selected jobs. You can then import the KISS files back to Tekla EPM to view and modify the recovered job again.

  4. Click OK to close the message.
  5. In the Save As dialog box, browse to the location where you want to save the first KISS file for recovering the job.
  6. If necessary, change the file name.
  7. Click Save.

    Repeat steps 5 to 7 to select the saving location of all KISS files.

  8. Close all open dialog boxes in the Tekla EPM.
  9. To re-import the recovered job to Tekla EPM, click the File ribbon tab.
  10. On the File menu, select Import.
  11. In the navigation tree on the left of the Import dialog box, select the job type (Combining, Estimating, or Production Control) and then, select KISS.

  12. Click the ... button.
  13. In the Open dialog box, browse to find the KISS file that you want to import.
  14. Select the file and click Open.
  15. Click Import.
  16. In the job editing dialog box, modify the job information according to your needs.
  17. Click Save.
  18. In the Import dialog box, view the status of the import process.

    If necessary, you can view the import details and errors in a text file by clicking the Open Import Log button.

  19. To close the dialog box, click the Close button (X) in the upper-right corner.

The recovered job can now be opened and modified when you open the related module in Tekla EPM.

Recover import backups

Tekla EPM creates import backup files automatically when information is imported to a production control job. Import backup files contain the information of a production control job before any new information was imported. By recovering import backup files, you can revert a production control job to the state before new information was imported.

  1. On the menu, select Recover Import Backups.
  2. In the Recover Import Backup dialog box, select the import backup file.

    You can identify the correct backup file by the import date and time, the user that imported the information, and the job number.

  3. Click Recover.

    A message opens, informing you that Tekla EPM will create KISS files for the selected import backups. You can then import the KISS files back to Tekla EPM to revert the production control job to the state before importing information.

  4. Click OK to close the message.
  5. In the Save As dialog box, browse to the location where you want to save the KISS file.
  6. If necessary, change the file name.
  7. Click Save.
  8. Close all open dialog boxes in Tekla EPM.
  9. To revert the job to the state before new information was imported, Tekla EPM, click the File ribbon tab.
  10. In the navigation tree on the left of the Import dialog box, select the import file type and then, select KISS.
  11. Click the ... button.
  12. In the Open dialog box, browse to find the KISS file that you want to import.
  13. Select the file and click Open.
  14. Click Import.
  15. In the Job # list, select the job that you want to revert to its previous state.
  16. Click Save.
  17. To overwrite the current information with the import backup file, in the Import dialog box, select Add & Replace.
  18. Click OK.

    If you have selected the Prompt to confirm import fields in the Company Standards dialog box for the Production Control module, the Select the included fields dialog box opens.

  19. In the Select the included fields dialog box, click the arrow buttons to move the fields whose information that you want to replace to the Included list.

  20. Click OK.
  21. Define other necessary information for the imported backup file.
  22. Click OK.
  23. In the Import dialog box, view the status of the import process.

    If necessary, you can view the import details and errors in a text file by clicking the Open Import Log button.

  24. To close the dialog box, click the Close button (X) in the upper-right corner.
Was this helpful?
Previous
Next