Manage user permissions

Tekla EPM
2021
Tekla EPM Tekla EPM GO

Manage user permissions

When administrators create a new Tekla EPM user, the user does not have any permissions in the Tekla EPM. This means that they cannot access, view, or modify any information in any module in Tekla EPM. Administrators can manage the user permissions in their company either separately for each user, or by creating user roles and assigning them to users. To modify the permissions of an individual user, do the following:

  1. Click the File ribbon tab in the upper-left corner of the Tekla EPM window.
  2. On the File menu, select Administration.
  3. On the Tekla EPM Users tab of the Administration dialog box, select the user whose permissions you want to modify.
  4. Click Edit Permissions.

    Note that if the user has been assigned a role, their permissions cannot be modified individually, so the Edit Permissions button is inactive.

  5. At the top of the User Permissions dialog box, select the Allow Tekla EPM Login check box.

    When logging in to Tekla EPM has been allowed for the user, you can modify the other permissions.

    The User Permissions dialog box has multiple tabs that represent the different modules and features of Tekla EPM. This way, the user permissions can be set separately for each module.

    The tabs are divided into sections that represent different parts of the module or feature. This allows you to give the user permissions to only perform particular actions related to the module.

    All sections contain check boxes that determine what the user can do in that part of the module. The available check boxes are:
    • Select: When selected, allows the user to select and filter information, such as material items.

    • Insert: When selected, allows the user to add new information.

    • Update: When selected, allows the user to modify existing information.

    • Delete: When selected, allows the user to delete information.

    For example, to allow the user to select items and add items in a combining job, select the Select and Insert check boxes in the Combining Items section of the Combining tab. If only the Select and Insert check boxes were selected, the user could not modify or delete combining items, so the Edit and Delete buttons would not be available.

  6. To modify the user permissions, do any of the following:

    To

    Do this

    Select the permissions one by one

    1. Click a tab at the top of the User Permissions dialog box to open it.

    2. Select check boxes next to the permissions that you want to give to the user.

      You can also click the A (all) and N (none) buttons to select or clear all check boxes in a section. This way, you can quickly give the user all or no permissions to that part of the module or feature.

    3. Repeat steps a to b on all necessary tabs.

    Select multiple permissions at once

    • Do one of the following:

      • To allow the user to perform an action anywhere in the selected module, click the desired button at the bottom of the current tab.

      • To allow the user to perform an action anywhere in Tekla EPM, click the desired button at the bottom of the dialog box.

    For example, when the Update All check box is selected at the bottom of a tab, the user can modify information in all parts of the module.

    However, if the Update All check box is selected at the bottom of the User Permissions dialog box, the user can modify information in all modules of Tekla EPM.

    Copy the permissions of another Tekla EPM user

    1. At the lower-right corner of the dialog box, click the arrow on the right side of the Copy Permissions From list.

    2. Select the desired user in the list.

    3. Click OK.

    Give all possible permissions

    • At the lower-left corner of the dialog box, select the Administrator check box.

  7. Click Save to save the permissions.
  8. To close the dialog box, click the Close button (X) in the upper-right corner.
Was this helpful?
Previous
Next