Collect model history in Tekla Model Sharing

Tekla Structures
2021
Tekla Structures

Collect model history in Tekla Model Sharing

In Tekla Model Sharing, you can collect model history information on the actions made in a model. The model history of a shared model shows when the model has been changed, how the model has changed, and who has made the changes.

Collect model history in Tekla Model Sharing

To start collecting model history, do the following:

  1. On the File menu, click Settings > Advanced options > Speed and accuracy.
  2. Ensure that XS_​COLLECT_​MODEL_​HISTORY is set to TRUE.

    Tekla Structures automatically sets XS_​COLLECT_​MODEL_​HISTORY to TRUE when a model is shared.

  3. Set XS_​CLEAR_​MODEL_​HISTORY to FALSE.
  4. Click OK.
  5. To view model history, do one of the following:
    • On the ribbon, click and select an object in the model.

      The model history is shown in the Inquire object dialog box.

      If the Enable write out revision comment option has been selected in the Sharing settings dialog box, the revision comments are displayed as well.

    • Create a model history report.

      1. On the Drawings & reports tab, click Reports.

      2. Select a report template that shows the model history.

        The name of the report template may vary in different environments. In the Default environment, the report template is called Q_Model_History_Report.

      3. Click Create from all to create a report on all the objects in the model, or select one or more objects in the model and click Create from selected to create a report from the selected objects.

Offline usage history is stored according to the Windows domain user account. Note that in Tekla Model Sharing models, when you write out your changes to the sharing service, the changes are stored using your Trimble Identity.

Clear model history in Tekla Model Sharing

Clearing the model history of a shared model can improve the performance of a large shared model in Tekla Model Sharing and save disc space. Note that if you clear the model history, the model history information can no longer be used in the Tekla Structures user interface, reports, or Tekla Open API.

Before you clear model history, ensure that:
  • The information stored in the model history is no longer needed.

  • All users in the shared model have written out all their changes.

  • You are the only user currently working on the shared model. We recommend that you delete the model history at a quiet time, such as during the weekend.

Note:

Do not delete the history.db file in order to clear the history of a shared model. The history.db file is incrementally shared, and deleting the file can cause errors in the shared model.

  1. Open the shared model whose history you want to delete.
  2. On the File menu, click Sharing > Reserve next write out.
  3. In the Reserve next write out dialog box, write a comment about why you are reserving the next write out.
  4. Click Reserve.
  5. On the File menu, click Settings > Advanced options > Speed and accuracy.
  6. In the Advanced options dialog box, set the XS_CLEAR_MODEL_HISTORY option to TRUE.
  7. Click OK.
  8. Save the model.
  9. Restart Tekla Structures.
  10. Open the model folder and ensure that the size of the history.db file has been reduced.
  11. Write out the baseline.

Other users should now join the new baseline you have written out.

Was this helpful?
Předchozí
Další