How to handle Tekla Model Sharing accounts when the company name changes or two companies merge
Question:
Our company name and our email addresses will change. How do we handle our Trimble Identity user accounts so that we still have access to our current Tekla Model Sharing models?
Answer:
There are different steps depending on the situation for the company name change:
Only the name changes
If only the company name changes, follow these steps to continue using your current models:
- Ask your local Tekla support to change the company name for your company's existing account.
- Update the users’ email addresses in their current Trimble Identities. Be careful not to create a new Trimble Identity!
- Most users can change their own email addresses in their Trimble Identity. Instruct the users to change their own email addresses. For instructions, see Edit My Trimble ID Email and Password.
- For users who have a federated identity or an identity that uses multi-factor authentication, the administrator must update the email addresses.
Two companies merge
A user's home account is the company account where the user has the employee role. If one company merges with another company, the combined company chooses one company's account that will be the home account for all users after the merge.
The home account will change for users who were employees in the other company's account. Ownership of Tekla Model Sharing models and Tekla Warehouse content that belong to the other company's account must also be changed.
For example, if company Alpha buys company Beta, users in company Beta's account must join company Alpha's account as employees. Ownership of Tekla Model Sharing models and Tekla Warehouse content that belong to company Beta's account must also be transferred to company Alpha's account.
These steps outline the process for merging two companies:
- Choose one company's account that will be the home account for all users.
- Ask your local Tekla support to transfer ownership of Tekla Model Sharing models and Tekla Warehouse content that belong to the other company's account to the account that will be used after the merge.
The administrator of the account that will be used after the merge invites the users from the other company's account to join the account as employees in the Tekla Online Admin Tool.
This step is required to give users the necessary Tekla-specific roles even if users and licenses are not managed using the Tekla Online Admin Tool.
- The users or the administrator update the email addresses of the users who join the account that will be used after the merge in their current Trimble Identities. Be careful not to create a new Trimble Identity!
- Most users can change their own email addresses in their Trimble Identity. Instruct the users to change their own email addresses. For instructions, see Edit My Trimble ID Email and Password.
- For users who have a federated identity or an identity that uses multi-factor authentication, the administrator must update the email addresses.
- Tekla backend support moves the other company’s shared models to the account that is used after the merge so that company’s administrator can manage the models in the Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing.