Cut List Enhancements - v16.2

Tekla EPM
Not version-specific
Tekla EPM Tekla EPM GO
cut list
invalidated
combining
In FabSuite 16.1 and earlier a saved cut list was very prone to becoming invalidated if changes were made to the production parts or inventory records involved. Invalidated cutting details were often the result of:
  • Changing the shape, grade, or dimensions of a production part, breaking the link to the inventory item.
  • Changing the length of a production part.  If the length is increased it will often break the link.  If the length is decreased it will not break the link but it will invalidate the cutting detail.
  • Changing the combining details of the inventory item.  This includes combining additional parts into the expected drop of a cutting detail already on a cut list.
As of FabSuite 16.2 these changes will no longer invalidate a cutting detail.  Instead, the cut list will automatically be updated to reflect any changes that were made to the details of the production parts or the inventory items.  For example:
  • If a production part is updated resulting in the link to the inventory item being broken then that part will be removed from the cutting detail.
  • If the length of a production part is updated (but the link to the inventory item is not broken) then the cutting detail will be updated to reflect the new length.
  • If the combining details of the inventory item are changed then the cut list will be updated to reflect those changes.  This includes:
    • When combining run results are saved and one or more items in inventory are going to be saved into that are included on a cut list then a prompt will appear asking, "1 inventory item is on a cut list.  Would you like to have the additional combined items included or excluded from being cut:"  If you click Included then the additional items combined into that stock will be added to the cut list.  If you click Excluded then the additional items will be shown on the cutting detail with a line through them, indicating that they are not to be cut at this time.
    • When an inventory item that is on a cut list is manually combined a similar prompt will appear.
    • When manually un-combining an inventory item that is on a cut list then the items removed will also be removed from the cut list.
In all of these scenarios the cut list will be automatically updated, no extra steps are necessary to keep the cut list in sync with the details of the inventory item and production parts.

In fact, the only way that a cutting detail can now become invalidated is if all links are broken between the inventory item and the production parts. This can happen by:
  • Completely un-combining the inventory item.
  • Changing the production parts in such a way that all links to the inventory item are broken.
  • Specifically removing the links with the Production Control > Purchasing > Un-Link Job option.
Was this helpful?